Into The Night Without Dreaming

By L. Vancil

From the terror of dream shattered sleeping,
the demons of memory screaming.
The War in the jungle pursues me,
down green tinted trail, I flee.

Oh once through the night without dreaming!
Oh once through the night without pain!

Please Lord! Or I shall go screaming,
into The Night Without Pain.

From the terror of dream shattered sleeping,
the demons of memory screaming.
The War in the paddies pursues me,
through blood colored water, I flee.

Oh once through the night without dreaming!
Oh once through the night without pain!

Please Lord! Or I shall go screaming,
into The Night Without Pain.

From the terror of dream shattered sleeping,
the demons of memory screaming.
The war in the city pursues me,
down blood spattered alley, I flee.

Oh once through the night without dreaming!
Oh once through the night without pain!

Please Lord! Or I shall go screaming,
into The Night Without Pain.

Oh! death, the night without dreaming.
Oh! death, the night without pain.
Oh! death, your sweet reward, silence.
Oh! death, to rest without pain.

The terror and sweet pain of living,
in a world wracked by terrible dreams.
Tis more than my poor heart can carry,
to wake once more to my screams.

Oh once through the night without dreaming!
Oh once through the night without pain!

Please Lord! Or I shall go screaming,
into The Night Without Pain.

This is part of my anthology,

Dragons, Kings, and Lace

Read more on Lloyd Vancil’s blog.
Check out Lloyd Vancil’s collection of poems & essays on iTunes.
Follow him on Facebook.
Follow him on Google Plus.

Leave a Reply

